Biggest Cruzazuleada in History Pumas Went to Final

Biggest Cruzazuleada in History Pumas Went to Final

The Pumas did the feat. Juan Pablo Vigón scored a goal in the final minutes of the game and the university squad made an epic comeback to beat Cruz Azul 4-0 this Sunday night.

Argentine striker Juan Dinenno signed a double to give the victory to the university team, who had lost in the first leg by an identical 4-0. Dinenno scored his goals at 3 and 38 minutes, Paraguayan Carlos González added another goal at 41 and Vigón scored the pass at 88.

The series finished tied 4-4, but Pumas advanced to the series for the title thanks to their better position in the table, where they finished in second place, while the Machine was second. This is the first time in league history that a team has risen after losing the first leg by four goals.

The final matches will be held on Thursday and Sunday night, according to the Liga MX regulations. The schedules are announced on Monday by the Mexican Soccer Federation. Pumas will go out to win the eighth crown in its history, the first since the 2011 Clausura tournament, which would tie the total of a Cruz Azul that extended its title drought for another year.

The Machine has not been able to be league champion since Winter 97, when it beat León. For the university students, being in the final was an unthinkable appointment before the start of the tournament when the Spanish coach Míchel González resigned from his position a couple of days before the start and the leadership was forced to give the bench to the director of inferior forces.

Argentine Andrés Lillini, who did a good job with the team that only lost two games in the entire tournament, including the league. León is on track for his eighth league title, matching Cruz Azul, a dominant team in the 1970s — when they captured five of the eight stars on their shield. La Fiera was the best team in the regular tournament and Cruz Azul finished on the fourth step.

León seeks to join the select group of teams that have been crowned after being the best in the regular season. Since 1996, only Toluca (Summer 98, Summer 99 and Summer 2000), Pachuca (Clausura 2006 and Clausura 2009), Santos (Clausura 2012) and América (Apertura 2014) have achieved it.

Pumas soon discounted after three minutes in a corner kick in which Dinenno took advantage of a ball that bounced off Julio César Domínguez and the gunner hit a powerful shot inside the area to make it 1-0.

The university students put drama on it when Paraguayan Juan Iturbe took a powerful shot into the area that was rejected by goalkeeper Sebastián Jurado and the ball was left to Dinenno, who converted with a powerful right-hand shot from the right post. The play was initially canceled due to an offside, but the VAR corrected and validated the goal.

Before the break, in a quick transition, González entered the area from the right side to try a center that was deflected and the rebound was left to get a left-footed shot that exceeded Jurado’s throw.

In the second half, Cruz Azul seized the ball against some Pumas who delayed lines and bet on transitions, but neither of them generated clear danger in goal until Vigón received a center from the right in the heart of the area, lowered the ball and he connected a powerful shot with his right leg that left Jurado without a chance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *